When and how you should unpublish content.

Information that users need to act on (such as guidance or services) should be kept up to date. However, there are times when the information needs to be replaced, amended or redesigned. There are also times when information is out of date, for example, for a survey.

To do this, you have two options:

  1. Unpublishing (deleting) content
  2. Archiving content

To decide which one to use and to manage this, you will need to follow the process below.

Unpublishing content

When we replace, amend or redesign our information this can often lead to pages and content being ‘retired’.

What we do with those old information is important.

Leaving old information on the site can cause confusion for our users, for search engine and reduce the trust in our website. What’s more, the more information we leave in the website, the more we need to manage and quality assure.

Therefore, when we need to remove the content, we need to do the following:

  • redirect users to the new page by adding the URL to the new page or a similar page
  • delete the old pages and any folders or content parts

When to archive content

There are times when we need to keep the information but it is clearly out of date, for example, for a survey or a time limited campaign.

To do this, you must:

  • label the content as ‘Archived’ in the page title

Users will still be able to view archived content. It’ll remain on the site as a historical record of the scheme, but with a label explaining it’s no longer current.